Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Studenterkollokvium - Alfred Jones: Light’s Fantastic

12.11.2020 | Emma Hillgaard

Dato tor 19 nov
Tid 15:15 16:00
Sted Fys.Aud/Zoom
Inside a TiSapphire laser oscillator.

Inside a TiSapphire laser oscillator.

Supervisor: Søren Ulstrup


The Nobel prize in physics in 2018 was awarded to Donna Strickland and Gérard Mourou “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.” Their work revolutionised the field of experimental optics and has unlocked countless exciting discoveries in numerous subjects.

In this colloquium I will discuss what makes an ultrafast laser pulse and how we can produce them. Then I will take a detour via the different ways we can measure the pulses themselves, before delving into a few of the ways we use ultrafast lasers today in physics and physical chemistry.

Studenterkollokvium, Institut for Fysik og Astronomi, Offentligheden / Pressen, Studerende