The Ion Trap Group

The Group


New labs

The Ion Trap Group has recently completed its move into new lab spaces. The first ions in the new labs have already been trapped!

Here is a time lapse video of our main room during the move.

Rotational buffer gas cooling of Coulomb crystallized molecular ions. 

The Ion Trap Group has in collaboration with the Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik (MPIK), Heidelberg, Germany, carried out the first helium buffer gas cooling experiments on molecular ions sympathetically cooled into a Coulomb crystal. The applied method constitutes a novel route to form cold and spatially localized molecular ions. The results open up for refined studies of molecules and molecular processes in a size-range spanning from the smallest diatomic molecular ions to complex molecules of biological relevance. In terms of science, the results are expected to have impact on such diverse fields as fundamental physics investigations, high-resolution spectroscopy of complex molecules, cold chemistry, astrochemistry, as well as biochemistry. See article in Nature.

Rotational buffer gas cooling of Coulomb crystallized molecular ions
Single-ion recycling reactions. Ion reaction rates and reaction product branching ratios have been determined through repeated regeneration of an original target ion by photodissociation after each reaction. The results have been published in Angewandte Chemie
For the first time EIT as well as all-optical EIT-based light switching using ion Coulomb crystals situated in an optical cavity has been demonstrated. The results are published in Nature Photonics:
Molecular ions for the first time cooled to their lowest vibrational and rotational level using laser-based schemes. See article in Nature Physics.
Research on the cover page of Nature Physics:


First PICC newsletter

The first newsletter of the PICC (Physics of Ion Coulomb Crystals) project has been released. It can be downloaded from here.


The Ion Trap Group has been and is funded by variety of funding agencies including the Danish National Research Foundation, the Ministry of Higher Education and Science, the Carlsberg Foundation, the Lundbeck Foundation, the Villum Foundation as well as the EU Commission.