Sapere Aude grant to Professor Philip Hofmann

Philip Hofmann awarded advanced grant


New employee: Klavs Hansen

2014.08.19Klavs Hansen has joined the Department 1st August on a sabbatical leave from University of Gothenburg, and will work with Steen Brøndsted, Lars H. Andersen, and Michael Drewsen.

Glimpse of a new type of supernova

2014.08.12Astronomers have possibly caught the first glimpse of how a new type of supernova explodes. The observations have just been published in Nature.

A double layer of graphene keeps on charging

2014.06.26The thin carbon material graphene is even better at converting light to electricity than previously thought – it just requires two layers. Researchers at Aarhus University have just shown that stacking two layers on top of each other can – by means of light – create ‘hot’ electrons with a long service life. This will make it possible to use a double layer of graphene to harvest or store energy in optical components such as solar cells.

Heading towards a gamma-ray laser?

2014.06.25A group of Aarhus University researchers headed by Ulrik Uggerhøj has produced intense gamma radiation for the first time ever by sending an electron beam through a specially made silicon-germanium (SiGe) crystal – known as a crystalline undulator.

Aarhus University students are European science show champions

2014.06.23Students from Aarhus University’s Chemistry Show and Physics Show, along with students from the Technical University of Denmark (DTU), are the newly crowned European science show champions.


Mon 01 Sep
14:00-16:00 | Aarhus Universitet, Finlandsgade 24 (Shannon), 8200 Aarhus N
Foredrag om fusionsenergi
Hvilke forskningsmæssige udfordringer er aktuelle? Og hvad er fremtidsperspektiverne? Mød Henrik Bindslev, Director of Fusion for Energy (F4E) EU og hør ham fortælle om verdens største energiudviklingsprojekt.
Wed 10 Sep
13:15-15:00 | 1520-616
Thesis defense - Mathias Mikkelsen
Fri 12 Sep
11:15-13:15 | 1520-616
Thesis defense - Sarah Sophie Madeleine Garney
Wed 17 Sep
15:15-16:00 | Fys. Aud.
General Physics Colloquium - Thomas M. Tauris: 'Millisecond Pulsars: Multifaceted Astrophysical Laboratories'
Mon 29 Sep
11:00-13:00 | Navitas room 03.017
Thesis defense - Benjamin Sairanen
Wed 08 Oct
15:15-16:00 | Fys. Aud.
General Physics Colloquium - Bo Holm Jacobsen: ' Imaging roots and origins of mountains by earthquake seismology'
Wed 19 Nov
15:15-16:00 | Fys. Aud.
General Physics Colloquium - Anne E. Jensen: 'Fractional quantum Hall physics and topology in lattice systems'
Wed 10 Dec
15:15-16:00 | Fys. Aud.
General Physics Colloquium - Bo Brummerstedt Iversen: 'Thermoelectrics'
Comments on content: 
Revised 2014.08.29

Find Department of Physics and Astronomy

Show detailed map

Contact Information

Department of Physics and Astronomy
Aarhus University
Ny Munkegade 120
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Tel: +45 8715 0000
Fax: 8612 0740

Staff, students, management

Relevant numbers

CVR no: 31119103

VAT No.: DK 3111 9103
(all international purchases)

P no: 1009828059

EAN no: 5798000419872

Budget code: 2902

Aarhus University
Nordre Ringgade 1
DK-8000 Aarhus C

Tel: +45 8715 0000
Fax: +45 8715 0201

CVR no: 31119103

AU on social media