Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Time-resolving electron dynamics in molecules by time-dependent many-electron theory

In this project the aim is to develop and implement a general time-dependent many-electron theory (TDMET). It is the new development of attosecond radiation pulses that will open new avenues for time-domain studies of many-electron dynamics in atom, molecules and solids on their natural time- and length-scales. These capabilities promise a major breakthrough in our understanding of quantum dynamics.

To fulfill these promises, accurate theory that goes significantly beyond the present standard approaches is required. In this project, the new idea is to take the most accurate time-independent theory, the coupled-cluster method and try to extend it to the time-dependent domain with the purpose of studying the above-mentioned processes. This is a major enterprise that will combine the development of a new theoretical formulation with knowledge from strong-field physics and quantum chemistry.

The following researchers have worked on the projekt:

  • Professor Lars Bojer Madsen
  • Postdoc Haruhide Miyagi
  • Postdoc Camille Lévêque
  • Postdoc Siddhartha Chattopadhyay
  • PhD student Lun Yue
  • PhD student Jens Bækhøj
  • PhD student Jens Svensmark

Regular visitors:

  • Sebastian Bauch, 2014: February 17-21, March 31-April 4, May 19-23, October 6-10; 2015: March 2-6, June 15-19, November 23-27; 2016: April 18-22
  • Darko Dimitrovski


  • Thomas Carette, Université Libre de Bruxelles, September 24-26, 2013
  • Takeshi Sato, University of Tokyo, June 23-28, 2013
  • Oleg Tolstikhin, National Research Center “Kurchatov Institute” and Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, March 1 - May 30, 2013
  • Toru Morishita, University of Tokyo, March 1-10, 2013
  • David Hochstuhl, University of Kiel, February 25-27, 2013
  • Takeshi Sato, University of Tokyo, October 22 - December 22, 2012
  • Kenichi Ishikawa, University of Tokyo, December 10-14, 2012
  • Simen Kvaal, University of Bergen, November 4-9, 2012