Instrument Centre for Danish Astrophysics (IDA)

Board Meeting

Date: 31.05.2022, 08:00 - 09:00 CEST

Venue: Annual Danish Astronomy Meeting (Trinity Hotel, Fredericia)

IDA Board Members

Present

- Allan Hornstrup, DTU, ESO council delegate, Chair of WG1
- Christa Gall, KU, Chair of WG 4, elected member
- Desiree D.M. Ferreira, DTU, Chair of WG3
- Emil Knudstrup, AU, elected member (student)
- Hans Kjeldsen (HK), AU, Head of IDA, Member of the NOT Council
- Irfan Kuvvetli, DTU, elected member
- Jakob Lysgaard Rørsted (JLR), AU, IDA administrative manager and Chair of WG7
- Jes Jørgensen, KU, Chair of WG6
- Kasper Elm Heintz, KU, elected member
- Lars Buchhave, DTU
- Lise Christensen, KU, Chair of WG5, elected member
- Marianne Vestergaard, KU, ESO STC
- Marcus Marcussen, AU, elected member (student)
- Mia Sloth Lundkvist, AU, Danish member of the NOT OPC
- Sara Svendsen, DTU, Chair of WG9, elected member
- Simone Vejlgaard Nielsen, KU, elected member (student)
- Thomas Greve, DTU, member of ESO UC

Excused

- Heidi Korhonen, KU, Chair of the NOT Council, Chair of WG2
- Jens Hjorth, KU
- Johan Fynbo, KU, Chair of WG8, elected member
- Katriona Gould, KU, elected member (student)
- Mads Toudal Frandsen, SDU
- Roman Gould, SDU
- Simon Albrecht, AU
- Steen Hannestad, AU

Observers

Present

- Birgitta Nordström, KU, Danish representative in EAS and A&A, Chair of WG11

Excused

- Troels Haugbølle, KU, Chair of WG10

Chair of the meeting: HK **Minute writer:** JLR

Adoption of the agenda

The agenda is adopted

Welcome and introduction

HK welcomes everyone and introduces the work to the new members. Two meetings a year: September and February. A Doodle will be circulated by JLR before summer for the September meeting.

Appointment of the executive committee

The executive committee (EC, 8 members + IDA management) are responsible for preparing the IDA Board meetings. Have not been utilised for the past years but will run in a more regular way from now on. The appointed EC (excluding HK, JLR) are:

- Allan Hornstrup, DTU
- Desiree D.M. Ferreira, DTU
- Emil Knudstrup, AU (student)
- Mia Sloth Lundkvist, AU
- Jens Hjorth, KU
- Jes Jørgensen, KU
- Marianne Vestergaard, KU
- Mads Toudal Frandsen, SDU

Update of the strategic goals and next phase

HK presents the work and the process. The focus is the use of the infrastructures – specifically for the Danish participation in ESO, ESA, and NOT. It was decided from the ministry and NUFI that strategic goals are needed for all infrastructures (also for CERN, etc.). The text is mainly formulated by the ministry based on a draft from IDA. Eventually this overview document will be accompanied by a longer text with background and details (we already submitted a draft of this last year).

The document is now back from review in the ministry with minor alterations and comments. Any comments should be sent to JLR very soon. HK and JLR will meet with the ministry for the final approval.

The future strategy of Danish astrophysics will be based on this work and will be discussed at the next meeting.

Status of specific projects

LSST

No news since last meeting. Concerns about increases prices and longer deliveries (for hardware). Things will be delayed before data rights negotiations – however, first light is still expected in end of 2024. WG4 will continue the national coordination work, and specifically the work on the sciences cases.

ANDES (formerly HIRES)

Officially phase B (design phase) should start this summer. Some delays are expected. DK contribution is 5%, and we participate in the science working group. It is a problem to fund projects on a 10-year+ timescale. This is acknowledged by the ministry and is also written in the 'strategic goals'-document.

GIT

Letter of agreement almost signed (the director in Taiwan changed). A plan is developed to move the telescope to the summit on the Greenland ice sheet. Large review coming-up in September.

AOB

ESO 60-year anniversary will be celebrated on 15 September.